In Michigan, personal injury protection insurance benefits, commonly referred to as PIP benefits, are usually available when injuries or death occurs as a result of a motor vehicle accident. These benefits exist to cover expenses, such as wage loss, medical expenses and funeral expenses. If you have questions about Michigan's new no-fault laws and the available insurance benefits and PIP coverage, contact our firm.
At Barberi Law, our attorneys have extensive experience guiding clients through even the most challenging cases. Clients look to us for our experience, our attention to detail and our ability to answer a variety of questions, including:
- Is there a statute of limitations for PIP benefits?
- What do I do if my insurance company denies my benefits?
- Is there any documentation to submit, or do my benefits begin automatically?
These and many more questions are answered in Mr. Barberi’s free book, The Michigan Motor Vehicle Accident Book. No matter your situation, we encourage you to contact our office. We will mail you Mr. Barberi’s book, free of charge, and if you desire, you can schedule a consultation at our office to meet with one of our experienced personal injury attorneys.
Our legal team serves clients in the Central and Northern Michigan areas, including, but not limited to: Ithaca, Mt. Pleasant, Midland, Clare, Harrison,Gladwin, Roscommon, Gaylord, Grayling, Cadillac and Traverse City.
Frequently Asked Questions About Michigan Insurance
Injured individuals can feel confused or frustrated by the legal process following an accident. They have questions, such as: What are my rights? What are my benefits? It is crucial that you are aware of your options or you can make critical mistakes. Start with answers to these common questions:
- Which insurance company should I contact?
Under Michigan law, insurance companies are responsible for the payment of PIP benefits. You should first contact your own auto insurer. Failing that, contact the auto insurer of the closest living relative who lives in the same home that you do. If you do not have either of those two options, contact our firm for advice.
- How long do my benefits last?
Michigan law requires that the responsible insurance company pays 85 percent of your monthly wage loss or a statutory maximum, whichever is lower. This amount is payable only for the first 36 months after the accident, so it is crucial that you act quickly.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation Regarding Your Case
If you have questions regarding no-fault insurance benefits, we encourage you to contact Barberi Law. We will send you Mr. Barberi’s book, which details answers to several of the most common questions and concerns that other clients have had regarding their no-fault benefits when they have been involved in a motor vehicle accident. If you would like to schedule a free consultation to discuss your specific situation, call (989) 546-7124, or complete our online contact form.Contact Us Today!